Rheumie agrees I’ve reversed my autoimmune disease!

This deserves it’s own post.  I went for a rheumatology check-up yesterday and it was a GREAT appointment.  He asked me again to walk him through what I’ve done to get better.  I explained how we discovered my intestinal tract was imbalanced and I had intestinal infections.  I said we treated those infections and I had been changing to a more plant-based diet over the past 5 years, but very strict over the past 1 1/2 yrs.  I said that I think that the infections were what caused autoimmune issues in the first place, and that by treating them and changing my diet I basically fixed the problem.

He looked at my labs and stated that almost every single test is normal, I don’t have any swelling, and I haven’t needed any meds in almost 1 1/2 yrs.  He then went on saying how for decades doctors have thought autoimmune disease was caused by a combination of genetic and environmental factors.  He made a comment that doctors are beginning to think that some of the diseases like ankylosing spondylitis are triggered by intestinal issues.

I reminded him that all my issues started initially with intestinal problems, then my other “autoimmune” symptoms began after.  He said that he agreed that it seems like the infections did create the autoimmune issues but now that that has been fixed, that the autoimmunity is gone.  What?!  Yep!!!  He said that I’m doing really great and he really doesn’t need to see me, but for me to come back in a year just to check and see how I’m doing still.

There you have it folks!  A regular M.D. that believes in traditional medicine, who is a rheumatologist agrees that I have reversed my autoimmune issues by rebalancing the gut (where most of your immune system resides) and changing to a more plant-based diet. 

AMAZING!!!  I am feeling great still.  I plan to keep on taking supplements to help keep everything healthy and to stay plant-strong.  But please let this be further evidence that you CAN possibly prevent or reverse autoimmune disease by having a plant-based diet and if needed, using functional medicine.

2 responses to “Rheumie agrees I’ve reversed my autoimmune disease!

  1. I’m very inspired by your story !! I’m only 19 years old, and was recently diagnosed and was wondering if I could speak to you about your journey, because i’m interested in functional medicine as opposed to chemotherapy drugs for my condition.

    God bless you, and I hope to hear from you soon,

    K.

  2. I wish that you can contact me by email. please help me to help my daughter with lupus. Thanks.
    Hope to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

